What is sad?

I don’t know what’s sad, 

The weather or the sky, 

Gloomy and grey, it cries 

The rain that falls lifelessly like its dying 

~

I don’t know what is sad, 

My face or me

My grey clothes or feels 

My smile, a plastic thing 

A real one would breed wrinkles 

I am a glamour queen 

~

I don’t know what’s sad, 

My loneliness in a room full of people 

Or the gleeful mask they are wearing 

Possessed by the demon of blindness 

Effacing reality and replacing it with bad dreams and desires 

~

I don’t know what’s sad, 

That I have love or that there’s no love 

It’s scorching in my heart 

Churning at the pit of my stomach 

The pain, the burns 

Propels tears from my eyes 

Empty tasteless tears

But a glamour queen never cries

~

I don’t know what’s sad, 

The dryness of my lips keen to be softened by yours 

Or the absence of lips that please 

No love in love

Wanting what doesn’t want 

I don’t know what’s sad, 

That I love you and you don’t even know it 

Or that you look like love and maybe you aren’t. 

7 thoughts on “What is sad?

  1. i like reading the frank and moving emotions in your poetry. for me, these are the best lines in a poem full of beautiful lines: “I don’t know what’s sad,/My loneliness in a room full of people/Or the gleeful mask they are wearing.” this is a daily reality. beautiful poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

