Would you rather spend 6 months with the true love of your life… or never?

Colin has given me something to talk about just like I asked in my happy one year post. 

The question is… 

Colin Gave me something to think about and I have never ever thought about that. True love. If anyone in this blog knows something about me is how much I want to be in love and to love someone. But if there is something I can’t stand is pain. I can stand physical pain but never emotional pain. 
Hence, a part of me that craves love ever so much thinks I would actually want to experience what it would be like to be with the love of my life for six months. Despite the time limit on that, I think it is an experience I can’t miss. Pain is sometimes meant for growth and maybe I would grow stronger after those six months. I love love and I can’t imagine how amazing it would be to find the true love of my life and even if it will be for a short while, I think I would be happy I had a chance to be with them. 

But 

If I never meet them and never ever know the feeling of love that could possibly mean I would be unhappy and busy being in plain relationships, being cheated on, being hurt twenty times more in my life, probably being lonely and sad or more. I feel like that would be more sad because I would be wishing on true love and if I never meet them I will never ever believe in true love again. My mother is the example of something like that. Mom is 37 and she hasn’t met her true lover. She has been in all kinds of horrible relationships, she has been abused, she has had a boyfriend that literally pointed a gun on her head, she has been played cheated and all kinds of bad stuff and here she is 37 years young and believing love is bullshit and she would rather be on her own. When I tell her how much I wish to love a man one day she tells me “maybe its possible but men are plain rubbish (no offence to the lads on here) I should focus on myself.”

In other ways she is right, I should always focus on myself but these horrible men she had had in her life have painted a bad picture for every man out there and trust me a small part of her does want to be in love but she just can’t trust anyone or really believe anyone who says they love her because ten minutes after that they hurt her and I think if she spent six months with the true love of her life; she would still have hope. Whereas now, she isn’t even looking or caring for that matter. She is happy on her own and that’s something I don’t want for myself. Not that she is sad, I just want love. simple.

So my final answer is, I would love to spend six months with the love of my life and this question has made me make a promise that if I really was to meet the true love of my life, I would spend each day like it’s the last. I would love them like I have never before and after those six months pain would obviously be inevitable but one day I would say “I was once in love” and it would be one hell of a story. 

So tell me what would you do? Spend six months with the true love of your life or never ever meet them? 

41 thoughts on “Would you rather spend 6 months with the true love of your life… or never?

  1. “…..me is how much I want to be in love and to love someone. But if there is something I can’t stand is pain. I can stand physical pain but never emotional pain.
    Hence, a part of me that craves love ever so much thinks I would actually want to experience what it would be like to be with the love of my life for six months. Despite the time limit on that, I think it is an experience I can’t miss. Pain is sometimes meant for growth and maybe I would grow stronger after those six months. I love love and I can’t imagine how amazing it would be to find the true love of my life and even if it will be for a short while, I think I would be happy I had a chance to be with them.” ->> This right there is so true for me too. But then what is true love? Whenever I ask my married friends or attached friends their simple answer is “when it is right you just know it” and yet they break up or cheat. I think I loved someone and feel she is the one for me. But that could be because of all the reasons I can’t have her so I suddenly only want her? I don’t know man.
    I just would like to recognise the true love even if it were for a moment as short as lightnign.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a interesting question. Having to deal with the pain of their loss. Would be so tragic and heartbreaking. But, the same time isn’t that what love is about taking a risk of loving and losing? I guess I would want them for a short time than no time at.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think I would take the six months. Never experiencing love would probably make me very bitter and resentful towards other people, especially in my older years. I would look at young couples holding hands and scowl at them instead of smiling and that’s a future I don’t want for myself or for anybody else.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love your opinions on this I can see where your mum is coming from with what she said from what you have said but letting others experiences influence how you live your life isn’t the best way to be.
    I’ll tell you my story, I won’t use any names though.
    I’ll start of by saying before I met the woman I loved I didn’t think that I was capable of feeling love. I was numb to almost everything and whenever the tropic of love came up and I was asked if I had ever been in love I always just shrugged.
    It wasn’t an emotion or a feeling I had ever truly experienced.
    Then I met Her and everything changed, we met online, it was a long distance relationship and let me tell you now they don’t work, we would talk everyday for hours via Skype, snap chat, text and email. Would stay up until I couldn’t stay awake anymore just to talk to her.
    She would wake up early in the morning just to call me. Things were great. I had never felt anything like it before in my life.
    I loved her with all my heart and she loved me back.
    She saved me, literally, I’ve written about that on my blog Before.
    We were together for around 6 months and then one night it ended. It became too difficult that we couldn’t be together and it was hurting both of us. If I had the money I would have moved to be with her but it wasn’t possible.
    So we tried being friends, we still talked daily and then she started seeing someone, she told me all about him and he is so similar to me that it killed me. She eventually told him about me and he wasn’t happy with how close we were. He’s a good guy and would never have told her that we couldn’t talk or be friends but I stepped aside. I couldn’t be the reason that she wasn’t happy so I let her go.
    She is still with him and is happy and that means the world to me that she is happy I just wish it was with me. I could not have lived with myself if I was the she was unhappy so I let her go.
    I still love her to this day and the pain of losing her has never gone away. It’s dulled a little but it never goes away.
    There are times that I wish I had never met her so I wouldn’t experience the pain but at the end of the day I wouldn’t give our time together up for the world.
    Sam I know you have read the stories on my blog. After you have read this go back and read “Finally together” “fireworks” and “Cabin in the woods” to name a few. Those were written about her.
    I hope I haven’t droned on for to much here but this is my story

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh my god Colin, your story is amazing and I am so in love with it. I was smiling through out, my smile was so big because even if there isn’t a happy ending to the story, you just wrote this in a way that I felt how much you guys were in love and you are such a wonder man and the actions you took here were brave, it’s not easy to let go of the people we love.

      I remember cabin in the woods the most, it was/is my favourite. I will read the others tonight 😊

      Thank you so much for sharing this with me 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Sam it’s good to know it comes across that way. At the end of the day I did what was best for her to be happy even if it wasn’t what was best for me.

        I’m happy to share it with you there is one caveat that I will add to the story she was also my best friend she saved my life, literally, she has been such a massive influence in my life that I named my daughter after her.

        With the stories I mentioned there Finally Together is my favourite one. And I want to mention that The Hotel was written after we split but it’s about her as well as is the follow up

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow this was really true love. Does your wife know about her and is she okay with naming your baby girl after your first love?

        I have read the hotel and I will continue to read the others tomorrow cause I am sleepy lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s kind of a gray area but she knows who she’s named after just maybe not the full story.
        She doesn’t know the full extent of everything but she knows that she is named after my best friend who stopped me killing myself.

        Well have fun reading them ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Okay but at least she knows 😊

        I am glad she stopped you from killing yourself, I wouldn’t have had met an amazing person that you are and mostly, I would have had the opportunity to read the ‘journey’s end’ 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh my god, that’s why you can hear her but you can’t see her 😄 that’s amazing! Now I crave to read it to the end cause I am curious if he will actually find her and kiss her and if she is being kept by the aliens. Oh my god this has actually made me such a geek for this book cause I am even more intrigued now. I loved the mystery of Cassie and to know she is inspired by your true love that just makes me love it some more.
        I am happy to actually say this for my heart: I am a huge fan of the Journey’s end and you know what’s funny?
        It’s the first science fic/ alien related book I have ever read and liked, actually – loved.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I also love that Everytime it’s Luke Cassie is technically there next to him but she actually isn’t and she can see what he can see and they talk like they are in the same room and everything.

        It’s just amazing Colin, I am literally smiling goofy about this haha

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Haha that’s great I love that you’re having that reaction, I have changed a lot of it since you read the parts that you have read, I can’t remember where that was too. If you really want to know I can send the full thing so can get you hooked. Just ask for feedback on the story, I can tell your desperate to know. 😀

        Also its funny you say that about the Sci Fi/alien thing the story isn’t really about that side of it that’s just the setting it’s more about the Journey

        Hence the title

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I know but it’s because there is an alien attack thus why I am relating it to that and yes please send me the whole book and I will read it from the start.

        As for feedback, I guess even with the draft you sent to me, you can tell it’s good by my reaction to it. I simply love the book and I honestly mean that.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I’ll send it tomorrow I think i still have your email. You don’t need to proof it or anything just read it and tell what you think.
        I think you may be surprised I will say one thing I kind of split her into two separate characters but you’ll see what I mean

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Different strokes I guess. For me her happiness was more important to me than my own.
        I don’t know if that is benevolent or completely stupid but that’s just how I am.
        I suffer for that decision and I have done for a long time. But at the end of the day I know my actions saved her pain and she’s happy and that’s enough for me.
        Then again I may be a complete moron for thinking that way

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

