SPRITE 

In life we take every second, minute and every hour almost for granted. That is why we never see it coming and why we can never predict it because any hour could be the last. Any hour could be the first and it always passes. Some people celebrate Christmas, birthdays and so on but Nelly Josephs and John Josephs had learned the art of celebrating every passing second. After surviving death at the brutal car accident, Mr Joseph had the sudden realisation of the meaning of life and the love he had for his wife. Now she was 80 years old battling cancer. Mr Josephs gave her her medication and she asked him to lay by her side.  “John, do you remember how we first met?” She asked, every word echoes a promise of death. It broke Mr Josephs because he knew at any time he would lose her. “Oh darling don’t you remind me, I was a clumsy little boy” he laughed; or at least forced enjoyment to fill his cry. “I had just came from playing netball. Had lost with one goal. I was angry, so angry I could barely breath and then out of nowhere cold Sprite splashes all over my face and my chest.” She chuckled her chest wheezy like she had too much air in her lungs. 

“You looked at me like I had stolen your candy and I was about to have my face smacked” 

“I did smack you, right here” she says caressing his face. 

“I always considered it our first kiss because it was the moment I looked into your eyes and I knew I had fallen in love even if I didn’t know what love was” he said looking into her eyes remembering the day 72 years ago. They were only eight when that happened. 

“I don’t even know why I had a bottle of sprite in my hand. My mother never allowed me to drink fizzy” he laughed gently while not moving his eyes from hers. 

“It was because God had destined it for us.” She smiled. They cuddled together for a few more hours into the night and then Nelly asked for a glass of sprite. John went to get it and she sat up and they both clicked glasses and drank up. Since the age of eight and the beginning of their love, they always celebrated with a bottle of sprite instead of wine. So when he felt it in the middle of the night, felt her life leave her body. He kissed her cold skin and a tear fell. Despite that he had told himself that every hour was the last with his wife, when it happened it hurt but he wiped away the tears as his wife had made him promised that if the hour came, he would not cry. Instead, he should get a bottle of Sprite and have a drink. Celebrate every hour they spent together. And so they had celebrated their last hour.

7 thoughts on “SPRITE 

Leave a Reply

